Uttarakhand Technical University

(UGC Recognized-State Govt. University)

UTU is a state technical university situated in Dehradun, Uttarakhand and is recognized by UGC. This was established on January 27th, 2005 under Uttarakhand Technical University Act 2005.

All India Council for Technical Education

(Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India)

AICTE which is also known as All India Council for Technical Education was organised in 1945. This organization is a national level organization which works as an advisory organization. The statutory of AICTE was made on May 12th, 1988. This establishment was done with a vision of proper coordination and planning for the development of the education system across the country. It also takes care of norms and standards.

Uttarakhand Board of Technical Education (UBTER)

Uttarakhand Board of Technical Education has been set up by Act no 27 of 2003. This set up was done by Uttarakhand legislative assembly approved by the governor on January 13 th, 2004. This was notified on January 15 th, 2004. It provides assistance for the constitution and establishment of Board of Technical Education in Uttarakhand.

National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC)

(Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India)

The National Assessment and Accreditation Council is an organization that assesses and accredits institutions of higher education in India. It is an autonomous body funded by the University Grants Commission of Government of India.

H.N.B. Garhwal Central University

(UGC Recognized, NAAC Accredited) (Central Govt. University)

The name of this university was rechristened to HNBGU – Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University in 1989 in the memory of the son of Shri Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna. This university was established as Central University under the provision of the Central Universities Ordinance, 2009 and published in the Gazette of India. It is recognised by UGC and accredited by NAAC. HNBGU is amongst the ten largest Universities of India which affiliates top colleges in India

National Dairy Research Institute (NDRI)

In 1970, NDRI was brought under the Indian Council of Agricultural Research. In 1989, the status of Deemed University was conferred to the Institute for strengthening the academic programs.


University Grants Commission of India which is also known as UGC is a permissible organisation which is looked after by the Union government in 1956. It is responsible for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education. It provides recognition to universities in India and distributes funds to such recognized universities and colleges.


The responsibility of the Ministry of Human Resource Development is the overall development of basic infrastructure of the advanced education sector in terms of planning, policy and execution. Under the development procedure, the department takes care of the expansion of access and qualitative improvement in higher education with the help of world-class universities, colleges and other institutions.